My Week in the Country – Wednesday 17 April 2013

IMG_2897

Day 3: TRFM – Traralgon, Victoria: Australia

Crossfade, Save to Log, TR Sweep, Spot Block, End Block, Play Rotation, Intro/Outro, Segue, Time Up Jingle, Air Check and OB – just a few new terms that made up my very busy and intense third day @ TRFM.

Day three was all about taking the learning from yesterday and overlaying it as part of the Mid Dawn show I’m working on this week. However, my big challenge for today was taking very bland CSA’s (Community Service Announcements) and making them conversational with a personalized emotional hook that sounds authentic and believable. Some of the CSA’s I had to work with included promos for “Bogan Bingo”, the “Bachelors and Spinsters Ball”, “Oz Kick” and the “Local Library Book Sale”. My spot’s needed to include the back and forward announcing of music and create a “story based” promo for each CSA with an emotional hook that people could relate to. WOW – this new inclusion into my spots made for a very tough day – especially with Bogan Bingo!!  However, I took the challenge and ran with it.

Once again – the program director completed an “Air Check” of my 20 X 30 sec spots for the Mid Dawn show and provided me with comprehensive and mainly positive feedback.

The other thing that stood out for me today was how much I’m enjoying the music I’m listening to while producing each of my spots for the program. So, my top three music picks from this weeks experience include:

 

 

“Never Dull Your Sparkle”

– Peter P XOXOXOXO

Leave a comment