Thought of the Week – The World Needs the REAL YOU!

IMG_4647
“Be yourself! The world worships an original.”

– Ingrid Bergman

It’s so easy to say, but sometimes it can be so hard to practice – “Be Yourself”!

This weekend I had the exciting opportunity to further explore the creative/theatrical part of my authentic self at the annual “Gangsters Ball” in Melbourne. I went to the event as my drag alter ego – Frantique. The experience was exhilarating and at the same time made me very anxious. This is a side of my authentic self that has had very little encouragement – mainly from within. I felt thrilled about attending the event in drag and also extremely exposed. However, I had a blast and the crowd loved my drag character including Frantiques glamorous look.

Upon reflection, I ask myself which real me works? Which part of the authentic self makes me happy and doesn’t alienate me from the world? Is there multiple Real Me’s? Should I strive to push the envelope so far that I challenge conventions, expectations and outdated social norms – or do I try and fit in?”

I have more questions than answers – however, what I do know is that living a life as your authentic self ROCKS!

For the past few months I’ve felt that the real Peter P is slowly but surely clawing his way back to the surface. What I’m discovering is that the authentic me is multifaceted. Sometimes my authentic self is loud, loves to dance all night and can be theatrical when other times I feel introspective and the need for solitude. However, for the most part, I feel accepted by my loved ones and they’re on board for the ride.

Who knows where this phase of my life will take me – but I’m going to enjoy the journey.

Give your authentic self the opportunity to shine this week. The world needs it!

“Never Dull Your Sparkle”

– Peter P XOXOXOX

Leave a comment